March 4, 2010

The Honorable Patrick J. Leahy Chairman Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Jeff Sessions Ranking Member Committee on the Judiciary United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Chairman Leahy and Ranking Member Sessions:

We have in common that we have all served as senior leaders of the Department of Justice, although we have served in the administrations of different parties. What we also have in common, and what is particularly relevant at the moment, is that we all benefited during our tenures from the wise counsel and good judgment of David Margolis. His advice is informed by his long experience and delivered with utter lack of partisan bias or any other distorting prejudice. We greatly admire and appreciate the unique role he has played in the Department over many years.

While we do not comment here on the merits of the decision regarding the discipline of John Yoo and Jay Bybee, we are certain that it was reached conscientiously and wholly without partisan purposes. Obviously, Congress has the right to explore this decision with the Department, as this Committee did in hearing from the Acting Deputy Attorney General last Friday, but we write to emphasize that we have no doubts at all about the honesty and integrity of David Margolis's decision in this matter.

As those who have benefited from David Margolis's counsel, we know he remains a great asset to the Department and the country for the present and future.

Sincerely,

John D. Ashcroft Attorney General 2001-2005

William P. Barr Attorney General 1991-1993

Benjamin R. Civiletti Attorney General 1979-1981

James B. Comey Deputy Attorney General 2003-2005

Mark R. Filip Deputy Attorney General 2008-2009

Alberto R. Gonzales Attorney General 2005-2007

Jamie S. Gorelick Deputy Attorney General 1994-1997

Jo Ann Harris Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division 1993-1995 Philip B. Heymann Deputy Attorney General 1993-1994

Paul J. McNulty Deputy Attorney General 2005-2007

Craig S. Morford Acting Deputy Attorney General 2007-2008

Michael B. Mukasey Attorney General 2007-2009

David W. Ogden Deputy Attorney General 2009-2010

Janet W. Reno Attorney General 1993-2001

James K. Robinson Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division 1998-2001

George J. Terwilliger III Deputy Attorney General 1992-1993

Larry D. Thompson Deputy Attorney General 2001-2003

Danc

John D. Ashcroft Attorney General, 2001-2005

WPBan

•

William P. Barr Attorney General, 1991-1993

Benjonin R. Civilette

Benjamin R. Civiletti Attorney General, 1979-1981

oney nur James B. Comey Deputy Attorney General, 2003 2005

Mark Filip Deputy Attorney General, 2008-2009

ler 1

•

.

Alberto R. Gonzales Attorney General, 2005-2007

S. Sulick Jamie S. Gorelick Deputy Attorney General, 1994-1997

hon Han Jo Ann Harris Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division, 1993-1995

• '

Philip B. Heymann Deputy Attorney General, 1993-1994

-1

Paul J. McNulty Deputy Attorney General, 2005-2007

.

Craig Morford Acting Deputy Attorney General, 2007-2008

ı

I.

4

.

; |

Michael B. Mukasey Attorney General, 2007-2009

20

.

David W. Ogden Deputy Attorney General, 2009-2010

.

Taxet Kens/159

Janet W. Reno Attorney General, 1993-2001

And, allin

~

James K. Robinson Assistant Attorney General, Criminal Division, 1998-2001

Hey Milling

George J. Terwilliger III Deputy Attorney General, 1992-1993

Larry D. Thompson Deputy Attorney General, 2001-2003